About ACEC Alabama

The American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) is the voice of America’s engineering industry. With Member Engineering Firms located across the nation, ACEC Members are engaged in a wide range of engineering works that propel the nation’s economy, and enhance and safeguard America’s quality of life. Our member engineering companies are responsible for the design works of America’s infrastructure, allowing Americans to drink clean water, enjoy a healthy life, take advantage of new technologies, and travel safely and efficiently. The Council’s mission is to contribute to America’s prosperity, welfare and progress.

ACEC Alabama was established in 1956. Today our members are engaged with state government and other public and private entities to ensure our public and private infrastructure works meet the highest standards in order to protect and ensure the quality of life for the citizens of our state. Our member professional engineers take seriously their responsibility not just for the quality of the jobs they work on but for the safety and well-being of the public at large.

ACEC’s roots date back to 1909 when a small group of engineers in private practice established the American Institute of Consulting Engineers (AICE), the forerunner of ACEC. Nationally, ACEC is a large federation of 52 state and regional councils representing the great breadth of America’s engineering industry. ACEC member firms employ more than hundreds of thousands of engineers, architects, land surveyors, scientists, and other specialists, responsible for more than $200 billion of private and public works annually. Member firms range in size from a single registered professional engineer to corporations employing thousands of professionals.

Executive Committee

Kendall Kilpatrick, Mott MacDonald

Heather Page, Whorton Engineering

Zone 1 Vice President
Jeremy Deal, Barnett Jones Wilson, LLC

Zone 2 Vice President
Charles Oligee, S&ME, Inc.

Zone 3 Vice President
Josh Dogan, Barnett Jones Wilson, LLC

Zone 4 Vice President
Drew Davis, Volkert, Inc

Zone 5 Vice President
Daniel Wells, CDG Engineers

Zone 6 Vice President
Ray Womack, Krebs Engineering

Zone 7 Vice President
Jeff Cowen, Building & Earth Sciences, Inc.

Zone 7 Vice President
Gray Wells, Christy/Cobb, Inc.

Hansel Stewart, McGiffert & Associates, LLC

Immediate Past President
Jim Meads, Sain Associates

National Director
John Smith, Civil Consultants, Inc


Executive Director
Renée A. Casillas

Membership and Operations Manager
Daniel Sparkman